In this 21st century, climate change represents a serious challenge for all humanity, particularly the African rural community, and for that matter the West African region. The region is confronted with the urgent need to develop effective adaptation and mitigation measures.

 WASCAL (West African Science Service Center on Climate Change and Adapted Land Use) is a research program developed to address the challenge of change and increasing variability of climate and enhance the resilience of human and environmental systems. WASCAL does so by strengthening the research infrastructure and capacity in the field of climate change in West Africa, by pooling expertise from ten countries in the region and German institutions.

WASCAL is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The project is coordinated by the Center for Development Research (ZEF) of the University of Bonn and is implemented through the effective collaboration between partners in West Africa and the Federal Republic of Germany.

 Program Goals

  • Educate west Africa’s future leaders for a better mainstreaming of climate change related issues in sustainable developement policies, projects and programs. ;
  • Promote the use of an integrated approach to address climate change related issues;
  • Build capacities in terms of climate change impacts assessment and the development of adaptation strategies;
  • Promote an operational approach of the knowledge in the field of climate change, mainly through case studies
  •  Promote growth and youth entrepreneurship and employment in green industry,
  •  Develop strategies for a better mainstreaming of technologies in the field of green economics.
  •  Analyze the economic causes of climate change (development strategies, energy price and policy, etc.)
  • Understand the stakes in multilateral negotiations and international strategies to meet the challenge of climate change

Curriculum Development

The program’s curriculum comprises both a theoretical foundation and the methodological and quantitative tools needed in the field of mathematics, statistics, econometrics etc. to conduct cutting edge research in applied economics. The subjects studied are multidisciplinary in nature and encompass topics related to development economics and climate change: development economics theories, sustainable development theories, climate change economics and finances, integrated approach to climate and policy modeling, etc.

Partnership

The program is supported by a unique pool of partners at the national, regional, and international level. UCAD and other Senegalese universities, several institutions and researchers contribute to the development of the program through teaching, supervision of students, and research. Similarly, the program draws on the rich and diverse expertise in economics within English and French speaking universities at the regional level. The Center

Le changement climatique constitue en ce 21ème siècle un défi majeur pour la communauté rurale africaine, surtout celle de l’Afrique occidentale. La région est donc confrontée à la nécessité urgente de développer des mesures d’adaptation et d’atténuation efficaces.

 WASCAL (Centre Ouest-Africain de Service Scientifique sur le Changement Climatique et l’Utilisation Adaptée des Terres) est un programme de recherche, conçu pour répondre au défi du changement et de la variabilité croissante du climat et accroitre la résilience des systèmes humains et environnementaux. Pour ce faire, WASCAL se propose de renforcer, l’infrastructure et les capacités de recherche dans le domaine du changement climatique en Afrique de l’Ouest, en mettant ensemble l’expertise de dix pays de la région et celle d’institutions Allemandes. 

WASCAL est financé par le Ministère Fédéral Allemand de l’Education et de la Recherche (BMBF). Le projet est coordonné par le Centre de Recherche pour Développement (ZEF) de l’Université de Bonn et il est mis en œuvre grâce à la collaboration effective entre partenaires de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et de la République Fédérale d’Allemagne.

 

Objectifs du programme

  • Former les  futurs leaders  de l'Afrique de l'Ouest pour une meilleure inclusion des questions liées au  changement climatique dans les politiques et les projets et programmes de développement durable;
  •  Promouvoir une approche intégrée des questions de changement climatique;
  •  Renforcer les capacités pour évaluer les impacts du changement climatique et élaborer des stratégies d'adaptation;
  • Promouvoir une approche opérationnelle de connaissances dans le domaine des changements climatiques notamment par des études de cas
  •  Promouvoir la croissance et l'entreprenariat des jeunes et l'emploi dans l'industrie verte,
  •  Développer des stratégies pour une meilleure absorption technologique dans le domaine de l'économie verte.
  •  Analyser les causes économiques du changement climatique (stratégies de développement, les prix de l'énergie et de la politique, etc)
  • Comprendre l'enjeu des négociations multilatérales et des stratégies internationales pour faire face au changement climatique

Développement de curriculum

Le programme  englobe à la fois un volet théorique de base ainsi que des outils méthodologiques et quantitatifs qui sont nécessaires dans les domaines des techniques quantitatives,  pour effectuer une recherche de pointe en sciences économiques appliquées.  Les sujets abordés traitent d'un large éventail  liés à l'économie du développement et au changement climatique: les théories de l'économie du développement, les théories du développement durable, économie du changement climatique et de la finance, approche intégrée de la modélisation du climat et de la politique, etc

Partenariat

Le programme bénéficie d'un ensemble unique de partenaires à la fois au niveau national,  régional et international. L’'UCAD et les autres universités sénégalaises, plusieurs institutions et chercheurs contribuent à l'élaboration du programme par l'enseignement, l'encadrement des étudiants et  la recherche. De même, le programme s'appuie sur les compétences riches et diversifiées dans le domaine de l'économie  au niveau régional, des universités anglophones et francophones. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement (ZEF) de l'Université de Bonn s'associe avec  l'UCAD et le réseau pour mettre en œuvre la recherche, l'enseignement et la sensibilisation  comme ordre du jour du programme.